If God created the world in 7 days, why has it taken me so long to write my first post?

Standard

Since I created this blog page (with help from my friend MarviMarti), I have been struggling with how to do this.  How to write.  How to tell my stories.  Are they worth writing?  Are they worth reading?  Where do I begin?  Do I start at the beginning? Do I start with the present and work backwards?

I still don’t have any answers but I finally decided I needed to start.   So to you, my potential readers, my apologies if I am all over the place and if I make no sense.

When George (more about him later) read the title of my page, My Sad Little Life, I think it took him off guard.  I am not a particularly sad person and I believe he thought I was saying our life together was sad.  Our life here in Sayler Park is anything but sad.  Laughter fills our life daily and I truly believe he feels he was put here on earth to make me smile and laugh.  Thinking about it, I am probably happier than most people.  Over the last year I have learned I have everything I need.  The most important lesson I learned is that very little of that comes from material possessions.  My BFF, Julie, said the following to me just  few days ago:  “i think we are born with a hole in our heart and we live our lives searching for something or someone to fill that hole. God is the only one who can fill it.”  I spent the last 46 years working hard to fill that hole.  I tried to mold myself into various people I thought, or others thought I should be.  Some days I felt that my hole was just too big and the MY sad little life was never meant to be happy.

I asked the same questions over and over…why am I not prettier?  Why am I not smarter?  Why can’t I be more like ____ (fill in the name of any one of my co-workers or friends)?  Why don’t I feel like I belong?  What is my talent?  What makes me special?  The problem was, I was asking the wrong questions and I definitely was not asking the right person for answers.

Then something happened.  Someone walked into my life that changed everything.  And now, after 47 years, that hole, the one that seemed as if it were as deep as the ocean, has been filled with happiness, love, laughter, tears, warmth, peace, touch and friendship.  If you look closely you can see the bottom now.  It is only a matter of time until my sad little life is just a memory.

So I guess this is where I begin.  This is my creation.  My Sad Little Life.

5 responses »

  1. Anyone that Marti recommends is worth checking out. Now that you’ve taken the first step…..the rest will be easy. Write about anything that pops into your head. Don’t be dissapointed if you don’t get comments on posts that you think are “awe-inspiring, filled with such depth and wisdom that they shine off the page” and then get tons of them on silly little things you think no one would care about. Because the truth is: You are writing for YOU. If someone tells you they liked what you wrote…that is only icing on the cake. My only piece of advice? Carry a notepad with you everywhere now. You will never know when the inspiration for a blog will happen. (also get ready for the strange looks that people give you when that inspiration makes you laugh out loud for no apparent reason) LOL

    Welcome to the blog-o-sphere.

    • Cinnamon – thank you for the lovely words. I have so many things going on in my head, I had no idea where to begin. The “Note” APP on my iPhone is perfect for the notepad, thank you for the idea.

      Glad to be here!

  2. I’ve recently came up with a theory. I have heard the term light years and understand that it is the measurement of “time” in dealing with the travel of light. But aside from light, it deals with time. I have constantly tried to fit the mystical words of the Bible fit into my world of understanding and realize that we all have to be told the true meanings or come up with our own.
    The creation of the world in the Book of Genesis, talks of the world being created in six days and the seventh was a day of rest. I have wondered how this could be possible. I have never questions God’s abilities, but us humans can not truely explain or understand such things. I have came to wonder if time is not always the same measurement. If there is such a thing as a light year, could there not be a “light day”? Science has allowed us to understand that the universe is always changing and moving closer or farther away. The earth even is changing distance to the sun. The universe was void prior to God’s work. Time may have been a totally different measurement.
    So now that I have strayed way off the subject of the time that it has taken to write a blog in comparision to the creation of world, time is irrelevant. All things in due time.

Leave a Reply

